what if

What if I were King?

I mean what if I was sitting around with a bunch of my college buddies and one of ’em said, “Dude you could be King.” What if a couple billionaires happened to overhear and they thought, “I’ve got enough money to make that guy King.”

I’ve got no real track record, I can read a teleprompter, I can wear a tie and shiny shoes, I can even salute the military, shed a tear now and then, look solemn when things go bad, smile and wave at the sheeple. Hmmmm. I could be King!

I think there’s a lot broken. So there’s a lot to fix. That’s pretty simple, right? I hear people complaining all the time about this and that. Finding broken things is easy. Fixing them not so much maybe but most of the time when I complain about things I try to have a solution. I mean, really, isn’t it just useless whining to bitch about something if you don’t have a better way (or at least a different way) of doing it?

So, again, what if I were King?

I think, as King of the U.S., I’d need to focus on several areas of past greatness which are currently catastrophic failures:

  • education
  • economy
  • ethics
  • individual liberty
  • government
  • public defense

In preparation:

First, I would embrace the concept that fixing things sometimes comes with great cost. Great effort, great sacrifice, great commitment are required to achieve great results. I think our forefathers achieved great results and we should strive to as well. Its fairly common opinion that this country has great potential and c/should be great.  It is also common opinion that we are currently underachieving.

For years now our country has been behaving in much the same manner as a teenager having a party. At first its a blast, no limits, no supervision, everyone getting along and all is well. Unfortunately, as time passes, things begin to unravel, someone shows up uninvited, someone spills something, a fight breaks out, something gets broken. As the party goes on, you find yourself running in circles just trying to stay ahead of what is rapidly becoming a catastrophe. Eventually the realization sinks in that your parents will find out and there will be hell to pay at some point.

I do not think the price will be cheap or easy. I do not think it is beyond our reach. I do not think we should make our children pay for our mistakes. I think we need to suck it up, tighten our belts and get to work. It is our mess and we should clean it up. There is nothing right or just or fair about avoiding our responsibility. The price may be dear, but it is our price to pay.

If I were King,

Second, bring the military home. It is their job to guard our nation, its borders and the people within them. It is not their job to protect citizens of enemy nations, while Americans are undefended. I would prefer, if a war must be fought, to fight on foreign soil. However, we can not continue to ignore our own borders and security.

If I were King,

Third, non citizens go home or become citizens. (The after-party cleanup can not begin until the guests are gone.) It is a harsh concept in many eyes, I’m certain, but it is necessary. We need to fix things here and we will continue to fail if our energy and resources are not focused HERE on US.  Take note that becoming a citizen includes the following Naturalization Oath of Allegiance to the United States of America:

“I hereby declare, on oath, that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state or sovereignty, of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen; that I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States of America against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I will bear arms on behalf of the United States when required by the law; that I will perform noncombatant service in the armed forces of the United States when required by the law; that I will perform work of national importance under civilian direction when required by the law; and that I take this obligation freely without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; so help me God.”

If you want to pitch in and help, fine. Ignoring our laws and abusing our hospitality is not help. We welcome anyone willing to support and embrace our way of life.

[pause]

I’m sure I’ve long since reached the point of ‘too long to read’, it is late early and the man who could be King needs some sleep before he fixes the above list of catastrophes.

more to follow…

Posted on July 3, 2012, in constitution, education, freedom, politics. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. you make some good points there …

  2. Wonderful. If I didn’t hate kings I’d vote for you. 😉
    Miss Violet

Leave a Reply

