internet security

my Trend Micro Anti-Virus program subscription is about to expire.

how do I know?

there’s an auto generated email notification in my inbox and an alert in my system tray.

The problem: I don’t know which credit card they are planning to automatically charge. I don’t normally put internet purchases on auto-billing.

The solution (Plan A): I need to visit my online profile at their website and see where the charge will be going.

Except, there is no ‘edit/view billing information’ option available in my profile. Someone was really thinking on that one.

Plan B: call customer service and get some desk jockey to fire up their magic box and see which card is on file.

Except, there is no live person at the customer service option in the auto answer phone maze. It refers me to the webpage where they have a direct line number listed.

Except they don’t have a direct line (or any line) listed on that page.

Now, as a side effect of poking around their website, I find a page that shows the price for renewing a subscription.

Imagine my surprise disappointment when I discover (in keeping with big business ethical practices) the email in my inbox is offering me a ‘discounted’ renewal price that is greater than the price on the website.

so, if I click the link in the email for renewal I spend more money than if I go to their website and do it manually.

you liberals are probably wondering what the problem is here…….

Finale: when I finally get some idiot customer service professional on the phone and ask about the price disparity, the reply was ‘well that’s your choice’. The moral concept of a misleading email from a SECURITY COMPANY trying to take advantage of my trust was completely lost on this guy apparently.

Damn right its my choice. In fact, you moronic, foreign, phone politician it is my friggin choice to do business with your company AT ALL.

sigh… anyone want to recommend a good AV program?

Posted on March 22, 2010, in customer service, tech stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Call me a fool, but I dumped my fee AV service and went with Microsoft Security Essentials (free). So far, so good, but we know that can change.

    Interestingly, the MS stuff found a couple of malware items that my fee AV program did not.

    Good luck.

  2. I run the free version of AVG at home. It’s found and supposedly isolated couple of things. Of course, you don’t know what it doesn’t catch.

  3. Hi there,

    I hope that not knowing what card you originally charged our service to won’t prevent you from being a customer in the future. It should be very simple for our support to provide that information to you.

    Please try this support line: 1-800-228-5651. Please let me know if you have any other pricing/support issues.
    Thank you kindly,
    TM
    twitter.com/trend_help

  4. It should be very simple for our support to provide that information to you.

    yeah it should be .. but since the phone support number didn’t work it is tougher than it looks.

    me not remembering the card number is not the reason I’m no longer a customer.

    Again the ‘trying to cheat the loyal customer’ concept is lost on them.

  5. Go to
    majorgeeks.com then in the sidebar, click anti-virus (or security, can’t remember) it’ll give you a whole list of options- some free some not.

Leave a Reply

