NRA catalog

I’m a lifetime member of the NRA so I got my regularly scheduled delivery email of the NRA catalog today… or yesterday maybe.

I’ve looked at it in the past and after browsing about 4 items that all say ‘imported’ in the description I stop looking.

Today I decided to give them another chance and looked at a few items. The first T-shirt said dyed and printed in the USA. .. I thought that’s encouraging and I continued looking (even though its really sad when that sort of thing is an improvement). The next 4 items all said imported and I didn’t make an order.

I’m willing to admit that some items are difficult to find here in the USA but you’d think an organization in the business of being Pro-American would put in the extra effort to support Made in the USA companies.

just sayin’.

Posted on March 16, 2010, in customer service. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “you’d think an organization in the business of being Pro-American would put in the extra effort to support Made in the USA companies.”

    I’m and NRA lifer too, and it sours my gut every time I receive one of their foreign made “gifts” in appreciation for a donation. The NRA watch lasted long enough for me to wind it… the stem pulled out of the mechanism… I forget which Asian country it was made in, but obviously I was underwhelmed.

    I think items made by recovering U.S. veterans would be more appropriate; patches, hats, printed T-shirts, wallets, holsters, jewelry, art prints…

  2. Here ya go; a website with blog. 3,500 veteran owned businesses. Perhaps the NRA could see if any are willing to fill the NRA catalog with goods, perhaps even American made goods.

    http://www.veteranownedbusiness.com/blog/

    I know it’s not as simple as I am making it all out to be… I’m just venting a bit.
    Still, I think it’s a good idea.

  3. Thx for the link, Zack.

    I did finally find an item (a window sticker) that was marked Made in USA.

    It’s just amazing to me that someplace, somewhere in this giant organization there is someone with the power to make this decision and they think in their mind it’s good policy to use the NRA logo to market imported goods.

    of course it’s also amazing to me that there are so few affordable quality items produced by American companies. Time was when it would never occur to someone that there were products from other countries worth selling…. but that’s a different rant.

Leave a Reply

