flags

sigh, I’ll probably get myself deported to Oklahoma for this but here goes…..

U.S. Flag Code

TITLE 4 CHAPTER 1

§ 7. Position and manner of display

(e) The flag of the United States of America should be at the center and at the highest point of the group when a number of flags of States or localities or pennants of societies are grouped and displayed from staffs.

I’m sorry, but we cannot display the Texas State Flag at the same height as the U.S. Flag.

ok,ok .. you CAN do it, it’s physically possible, but it would be improper to do so.

update:

for those of you that are not following the logic here, if the US flag has to be at the highest point … no other flag can be the same height. Having 2 flags at the same height kind of ruins the whole ‘highest point’ concept.

Now, if it was the Republic of Texas, National Flag … instead of a State Flag .. well then it WOULD be proper to display it at the same height as the U.S. Flag .. on U.S. soil. Here in Texas, OUR national flag code would apply and we’d obviously want our National Flag higher than all the others.

just sayin’ …..

Posted on January 9, 2010, in constitution, education. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You can fly the Texas flag at the same height as the US flag, you cannot fly it higher than the US flag. See http://ushistory.org/flag for lots of examples and details.

  2. ahem ..

    you want to tell me that ushistory.org is a better source than the us flag code ?

    or do you want to agree with me that people do it when it’s wrong

    or you disagree with my statement that doing so is wrong?

  3. from ushistory.org

    10. The flag of the United States of America should be at the center and at the highest point of the group when a number of flags of States or localities or pennants of societies are grouped and displayed from staffs.

    that seems a bit familiar

  4. From the Flag Code, section 7c:

    No other flag or pennant should be placed above or, if on the same level, to the right of the flag of the United States of America, except during church services conducted by naval chaplains at sea, when the church pennant may be flown above the flag during church services for the personnel of the Navy.

    The “right” is the flag’s own right (the viewer’s left).

    Everything in ushistory.org is supported by citations within the Flag Code.

  5. ok then we know our left from our right …. not following your point here Doug, sorry.
    Your quote doesn’t give a state flag permission to be at the same level.
    If your point is that sometimes flags are ALL at the same level, I’ll agree. Occasionally, the nature of the display is such that the height is not the issue and the US flag is placed at the front or the left in the lead position.
    Sorry if my original post was vague, I was addressing the display of flags outdoors on staffs, as several Texans recently mentioned a popular belief that the Texas flag can be raised to a level equal to the national flag.

    I’ve worked flag detail and I’ve worked funeral detail. I’ve played taps in the driving rain. There’s not much on the planet that makes you realize the value and symbolism of our flag more than handing one to a crying widow in front of her crying children. If you’ve done it you know exactly what I’m talking about.

    My blood pressure does some truly amazing things due to the internal strife that occurs when someone exercises their freedom by disrespecting our flag.
    I’ve defended our flag in other countries and on other continents. I shouldn’t have to defend it here.

    I’m as diligent with my state flag as I am with my nation’s. I want to display all my symbols correctly. So far no one has been able to show me an official document source that says they should be on flagpoles of equal height. What I DO have is a federal document stating states’ flags should be in a lesser position when grouped with the federal; lower, behind, or to the right.

Leave a Reply

