sexist bastard

insomnia has its uses….

It occurred to me while I was not sleeping that there was a serious lack of frilly girly stuff on ye olde blog site.

So, I decided to toss together some stuff. I stole borrowed the ‘Chicks with Guns’ label from Breda (librarians love it when you borrow stuff) and added a new section to the left sidebar. Then I poked around the link lists of various well linked gunnie folks (and by that I mean LawDog*) to find additional sites I’d previously neglected.

Then I went through my rss feeds and saw a new entry from Melody that led me to Femina Fortis for the first time. I found myself ashamed that this quote is true for so many people.

I know I’m vulnerable.  I know I could very easily be a victim, and I HAVE been a victim.

My first husband was/is abusive.  I know other women who have been or are abused.  I know women who have been raped, and I know women who have been otherwise victimized.  I recognize the danger, and I recognize that I am particularly vulnerable BECAUSE I’m a submissive.

Then I got mad. And I plan on staying good and mad. WE ALLOWED this nation to evolve in a manner where women and children can’t walk down the street safely. WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH US?

I think its a crying shame that women are forced to protect themselves from criminals because our society’s values are so piss poor. I’m speechless to explain how OUR GOVERNMENT can think for a second we should be disarmed.

Can anyone out there honestly tell me that McCain and Obama were the best choices on any list? Pick your race; mayor, congress, senate….. I WOULDN’T PAY A POLITICIAN TO PICK UP DOG POOP. What the hell are we doing to this country? Our children grow up in a make believe world and their idols are reknowned for beating the system. 200 years from now when the children are learning American History (I hope) which names and faces from this group of elected/appointed officials will they revere?

I’m a part of this society and I’m forced to realize through my lack of action in the past I’ve contributed to the current situation. I have not been idle, but I can do more.

There’s a serious lack of frilly girly stuff in the world .. and its our fault. There is no excuse.

Next time you want to complain about our situation, find a mirror and take a good look at the voter you see in it.

——–

*me adding stuff usually starts with a visit to LawDog’s as he was my primary inspiration for plunging into the blogging business in the first place.

Posted on February 9, 2009, in crime, firearms, freedom, justice. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “Then I got mad. And I plan on staying good and mad. WE ALLOWED this nation to evolve in a manner where women and children can’t walk down the street safely. WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH US?”

    We allowed “feelings” and other touchy-feely BS to become more important than sound judgement. Making judgements AT ALL is somehow “BAD” these days……..

  2. Hey, thanks for the link. 🙂

    Agree with you about the absolute idiocy of a government allegedly “for the people” ever being allowed to entertain — even for a decisecond — the ridiculous notion that the people should be disarmed. It is unconscionable and not to be borne!

    At the same time, you’re living in a fantasy world if you think that the reason women and children (or anyone else of any age and either sex) have to be prepared to protect themselves is simply because our society’s values are so poor. It’s true our values aren’t what they should be (don’t even get me started!), but it’s also true that there has never been a time in human history where the weak were not at the mercy of the strong, and did not need a way to defend themselves. We’re fortunate to live in an era where the weak can do that little job themselves, and not rely on a big, strong, male protector to do it for them. With the advent of the hand-held firearm, human defensive tools finally evolved enough that even an 80-year-old grandma becomes physically capable of defending her own life against an aggressively violent 20-year-old thug.

    People who clamor for the abolition of firearms are not actually asking for the abolition of violence. They’re asking for a return of the Dark Ages, where the strong men ran the world and the rest of us were out of luck.

  3. I think you hit the nail right on the head when you used the word “allowed”. The people in this country have forgotten the truth of what we are really supposed to have here.

    I’ll say it here like I’ve said it on my blog. The United States of America is NOT a Democracy! It’s a Representative Republic. The people in this country have forgotten that We The People are in charge. Those weasels in office are supposed to take their orders from US, not the brady bunch or moron.org.

Leave a Reply

